spacer.png, 0 kB
Home
spacer.png, 0 kB spacer.png, 0 kB
Print E-mail

  PART 9.00  Appearance and Default (Civil)


9.01 APPEARANCE FEES - SEVERAL PARTIES

If a single appearance is entered for several parties, a single appearance fee shall be paid. If separate appearances are entered for several parties, either by the same or different attorneys, separate appearance fees shall be paid.

(Adopted 10/1991)
  

Back to the Top

 

9.02 APPEARANCE - FILING REQUIREMENTS

Every appearance or pleading shall contain the legible name, Winnebago County Circuit Clerk's attorney identification number if applicable, address, telephone number and email address of the preparing party, or the attorney, if represented by counsel, and must be signed by an individual attorney. Appendix E Appendix E
(Amended 12/2015) 

 Back to the Top

   

9.03 APPEARANCE/FEE WAIVER NOTICE  

 A summons informs a defendant in a civil case of the deadline for filing an appearance. See Supreme Court Rule 101. A judge choosing to extend the deadline for an answer or written appearance is encouraged to utilize a written notice in the form specified below.

Winnebago County Small Claims Cases:

Illinois law requires plaintiffs to pay a fee to bring a small claims case, and it also requires defendants to pay a fee if they want to contest those cases at trial. If you pay the fee and then win at trial, you may ask the Court to require the plaintiff to reimburse you. If you are financially unable to pay the fee, you may file a written request (with required documents in support) asking the Court to waive the fee. You must either pay the fee, or file a written request to have it waived, within 30 days of your first court appearance. If you do neither, then you may be defaulted (i.e. lose the case) and will not be allowed to participate in the trial.

Winnebago County Forcible Entry Cases:

Illinois law requires plaintiffs to pay a fee to bring an eviction case, and it also requires defendants to pay a fee if they want to contest those cases at trial. If you pay the fee and then win at trial, you may ask the Court to require the plaintiff to reimburse you. If you are financially unable to pay the fee, you may file a written request (with required documents in support) asking the Court to waive the fee. You must either pay the fee, or file a written request to have it waived, within 48 hours of your first court appearance. If you do neither, then you may be defaulted (i.e. lose the case) and will not be allowed to participate in the trial.

Boone County Forcible Entry & Small Claims Cases:

Illinois law requires plaintiffs to pay a fee to bring a small claims case, and it also requires defendants to pay a fee if they want to contest those cases at trial. If you pay the fee and then win at trial, you may ask the Court to require the plaintiff to reimburse you. If you are financially unable to pay the fee, you may file a written request (with required documents in support) asking the Court to waive the fee. You must either pay the fee, or file a written request to have it waived, within five business days prior to the hearing. If you do neither, then you may be defaulted (i.e. lose the case) and will not be allowed to participate in the trial.

Each notice shall direct the litigant to the office in which payment is to be made. Notices may also inform the litigant of the fee applicable to their case type.

 

(Adopted 12/2015) 

Back to the Top




 
 
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB