## STATE OF ILLINOIS CIRCUIT COURT SEVENTEENTH JUDICAL CIRCUIT

JOHN S. LOWRY Chief Judge



400 WEST STATE STREET, SUITE 215 ROCKFORD, ILLINOIS 61101 PHONE (815) 319-4800

WINNEBAGO COUNTY COURTHOUSE

December 8, 2022

For Immediate Release

Contact: Thomas R. Jakeway Trial Court Administrator Phone: 815-319-4806 Email: tjakeway@17thcircuit.illinoiscourts.gov

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## JUDGE JENNIFER J. CLIFFORD SELECTED AS CHAIR OF NEW ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT COMMITTEE ON DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

**ROCKFORD, IL** – Associate Judge Jennifer J. Clifford has been named as Chair of a newly formed Illinois Supreme Court Committee on Domestic Violence. This Committee is tasked with reviewing and making recommendations on matters affecting domestic violence, human trafficking, and the court system.

"Through neutral and informed approaches, the courts can better serve the needs of survivors of domestic violence and human trafficking," said Judge Clifford. "I am humbled by the Court's decision for me to guide this new statewide Committee."

John S. Lowry, Chief Judge of the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Court, commented, "Her dedication, initiative and years of experience educating stakeholders working in the justice system make Judge Clifford a natural fit for this leadership role. The Seventeenth Judicial Circuit is honored to have Judge Clifford represent us on this Committee."

Judge Clifford has served as an associate judge since December 3, 2018. She is currently assigned to the 17<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit Court's Domestic Violence Coordinated Courts Division where she presides over felony and misdemeanor offenses. Since February 2022, Judge Clifford has served as the Chair of the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Court Family Violence Coordinating Council.

Prior to taking the bench, she served as an Assistant State's Attorney in the Winnebago County State's Attorney's Office from 1998 to 2018. She received her undergraduate degree in Rhetoric and English from the University of Illinois in 1993, and her Juris Doctor from the University of Illinois in 1998.